Photos by @justingeorgephotos courtesy of Roland Sands Design

Anytime, anywhere, RSD Super Hooligans are down to race. Mixing up this year’s schedule so it included multiple racing disciplines was high on the priority list. Being able to compete on any type of track and any type of surface requires the highest skill set, and this year’s Super Hooligans have had their mettle tested on some insane tracks, from the makeshift hybrid grass and pavement course concocted in the parking lot of the Handbuilt Show to the crazy street course cobbled out in downtown Tulsa to fast dirt tracks like Salem Indoor Speedway and Perris. After the 8th Round of the RSD Super Hooligan National Championship, a concrete kart track can now be added to the list.

Round 8 was even more special because it was the first time hooligan racing would be a featured attraction at the Nitro World Games. Travis Pastrana invited the hooligan crew to be a part of the motorsports spectacle that included Nitro Rallycross, FMX Quarter Pipe and FMX Best Trick. As a result of having some of the best moto riders and racers in town, many of the Nitro World Games competitors gave the hooligan thing a whirl, and the field of racers in Salt Lake City was stacked. Pastrana himself hopped onboard an Indian FTR 1200 and gave it a crack while also competing in Nitro Rally Cross. Pastrana’s Nitro Circus cohort Jarryd McNeil hopped onboard a Yamaha Star and banged some bars, too. Tyler Bereman and Colby Raha battled it out in the Moto Quarterpipe, then dueled again in the super hooligan races. Kurtis Downs demonstrated how his downhill mountain biking skills translate on the track, too. Throw in Daytona 200 winner Danny Eslick and pro flat track racer Steve Bonsey into the mix and you’ve got one of the most competitive super hooligan talent pools ever assembled.

Four timed qualifying heats were held, with heat winners punching their ticket to the Dash for Cash. Super Hooligan regulars Andy DiBrino, Joe Kopp, Jordan Graham and Frankie Garcia all won their heats. In the Dash for Cash, DiBrino’s skill set as a road racer outside of hooligan racing served him well on the concrete track as he took home the $500 Dash for Cash bounty. Meanwhile, lap times from the heat races established the pecking order for Super Pole, with the 12 fastest Super Pole times earning a spot in the main. The remaining riders had to scramble for the 13th and final spot in the main by winning the LCQ.

Daytona 200 winner Danny Eslick twisted the throttle of the J&P Cycles' Indian Scout in the super hooligan races held at the Nitro World Games. 

In the 12-lap final, DiBrino grabbed the holeshot on his KTM Duke 790 and never looked back. Kopp kept the pressure on DiBrino hoping he’d make mistake so he could slip into the lead, but it never happened. DiBrino was on fire all day and captured the victory in Utah, closing the gap on championship points leader Kopp to three with two races remaining. Meanwhile, Graham and Bonsey were jousting for the final spot on the Salt Lake City podium, Graham ultimately using the power of his Indian FTR 1200 to hold on to the hard-fought third place position. His podium finish also helped Graham leap-frog Garcia in the overall standings, moving him into third place behind DiBrino and Kopp.

The SHNC paddock heads back to Southern California for the 9th round of competition at Costa Mesa Speedway on September 21.

Nitro Circus founder Travis Pastrana (199) shows he can toss a hooligan bike around pretty good, too.

RSD Super Hooligan National Championship Round 8 Salt Lake City Results:

1. Andy DiBrino
2. Joe Kopp
3. Jordan Graham
4. Stevie Bonsey
5. Jimmy Hill
6. Frankie Garcia
7. AJ Kirkpatrick
8. Danny Eslick
9. Travis Pastrana
10. Josh Sleigh
11. Tony Tucker
12. Stace Richmond
13. Tyler Bereman

2019 RSD Super Hooligan National Championship Point Standings

1.       Joe Kopp              Harley XG750 #3                165 PTS

2.       Andy DiBrino      KTM Duke 790 #1               162 PTS

3.       Jordan Graham Indian FTR 1200 #47           98 PTS

4.       Frankie Garcia    Ducati Scrambler #808       96 PTS

5.       Tony Alves          Harley Sportster 1200 #16   80 PTS

6.       AJ Kirkpatrick     Indian FTR 1200 #12           66 PTS

7.       Josh Sleigh          Harley Sportster 1200 #76   62 PTS

8.       Jordan Baber      Harley Sportster 1200 #27    55 PTS

9.       Jimmy Hill            Indian FTR 1200 #88           50 PTS

10.   Chris McDougal   Harley Street 750 #114            40 PTS